Trump halts immigration from 7 majority-Muslim countries, Syrian refugee program

U.S. President Donald Trump signed an executive order on Friday that would halt immigration from seven majority-Muslim nations for four months, including Libya, Somalia, and Syria.

Citing security concerns and the rising threat of terrorism, Trump said the immigration ban would allow the government to develop a more stringent method in which to filter out potential terrorists.

The move was panned by civil rights groups, the opposition Democrats, and foreign governments. Leaders from Germany and France, to organizations within the U.S. criticized the executive order as racist, as advocates said that banning people based on their religion was in violation of the American constitution.

As well, the order restructured the American refugee program, prioritizing refugees of the Christian fate, while completely shutting down the program to bring in people from Syria.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s